Women Techmakers Undergraduate & Postgraduate Scholarships For African Women


Women Techmakers Undergraduate & Postgraduate Scholarships For African Women

Women Techmakers Undergraduate & Postgraduate Scholarships For African Women 

Women Techmakers Scholars Programme formerly called Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship Programme is offering scholarships to African women who wants to pursue a bachelors degree, masters degree and PhD program at the Universities in Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

Google created this scholarship to promote gender equality in the field of computer science by encouraging women to excel in computing and technology and become active leaders and role models in the field.

Each scholarship recipient will receive a sum of €7,000 (or equivalent) scholarship, a retreat opportunity to connect with fellow scholars and google mentors and an online network designed to share resources and support the global community of women in tech.

The following courses are available for the bachelors, masters and PhD Scholarship:

– Computer Science
– Computer Engineering
– Informatics or
– A closely related technical field.


– Applicants must be a Female

– Applicants must currently be enrolled at a university for the 2016-2017 academic year.

– Applicants must Intend to be enrolled in or accepted as a full-time student in a Bachelor’s, Master’s or PhD program at a university in Europe, the Middle East or Africa for the 2017-2018 academic year.

– Postgraduate applicants must have completed their bachelors degree program in any recognized university in Europe, Middle East and Africa.

– Applicants must have good academic backgrounds.

Application Process

Interested and eligible applicant should complete the Online application

Applications are accompanied with the following information:

– General background information (includes contact information and information about your current and intended institutions).

– Current resume.

– Academic transcripts from your current and prior institutions (if you have earned a prior degree).

– One letter of reference from a professor, instructor, adviser or supervisor.

– Responses to four essay questions.

Application Deadline

The application deadline for this scholarship is on 1st December 2016

Filed Under: Uncategorized / 6 years ago